Cornwall Football Forum

Respect Campaign Feedback PLEASE

I'm due to talk to the nation's "Respect" county supremos at the F.A. ("Hello Wembley") the week after next, to explain how the West Cornwall Sunday League is dealing with the way that clubs and players treat referees.

It occurs to me that I have no real knowledge of the effectiveness of "Respect" outside my own league. I would be grateful for some feedback so that I don't make too many false assumptions. The rest of Cornish football may have a completely different view to mine.

1. I am only interested in adult clubs - but at all levels.

2. I would like to hear of any sanctions (punishments) that have been handed out by the CCFA that are directly in response to Respect.

3. I'd like to hear of any rewards that have been handed out (a word of praise or a letter counts)

I'd be pleased to hear from club officials and players. Any views at all on Respect. If you don't wish to go "public" on this, please feel free to send your views in a PM.

One of the topics in the day's discussions is where Respect should go from here, what works and what doesn't work. Nobody has asked either my club or my League and so, with no feedback, its difficult to see how they're going to deal with that.

What an ideal opportunity to have the FA explain why the principals of the Respect campaign were not upheld in the recent highly publicised match. I feel sure the FA would have imposed a much higher penalty if the incident had happened at a league ground, so why should principals of Respect mean less in a lesser league ?

I doubt very much if the CCFA have written to any club giving praise for actions taken in the Respect campaign, that is assuming that clubs or players actually take it seriously in the first place.