Cornwall Football Forum

Bodmin V Elburton Villa

Just got home from a few days visiting my grandson in Bodmin. On Wednesday evening we went to watch Bodmin take on Elburton Villa. I must stress that for 26 years I was a Class 1 referee and then an assessor for 7 years. The performance of the referee (Chris Stevens) must rank as one of the worst referees I have ever seen. He lost control from the 2nd minute of the game when the Elberton no 2 stamped on a Bodmin player and he didn’t even talk to the player. On several occasions he over ruled his assistants when he was not in a better position. Any 50/50 tackles he gave to Elburton Villa, and when he did give it to Bodmin he had totally no respect for the advantage law.

The goal came from an offside decision that was not given by the assistant. The player looked offside from where I was standing and the referee was in a position to see but he waved play on after all the Bodmin players stood still and a good goal was scored. This lead to protests by the Bodmin players and one or two Bodmin players were cautioned.

Then 2 minutes later a Bodmin player was sent off for stamping on a player. This was the correct decision, but I must add that this situation came about through frustration. (The stamping was no worst that the stamping in the first 2 minutes)

The second half followed very much the same as the first. The referee’s positioning for set piece free kicks and corners was very weak on 2 occasions he stood between the ball and the sight of the goalkeeper. He didn’t run the diagonal just up and down a 10 metre channel in the middle of the field.

If there was an assessor at the game I would like to see his report on the game. It was obvious to me that either this referee is not up to the standard for this level of football or he has a grudge against Bodmin Town.