Cornwall Football Forum

A disgrace.

Sorry this is long winded but it just goes to show what can happen.

REPORT FOLLOWING THE MATCH AVGAROU V LEOPETRI. – 17/01/2009.

Dear Sir/Madam.

On the 17th January 2009 I was an assistant referee at the match between Avgarou and Leopetri, the other assistant was Karakis and the referee was Panicos Nicolou.

During the game there were a number of incidents and the referee was having difficulty controlling the players, substitutes and team officials. On more than one occasion players, substitutes and team officials surrounded the referee shouting and gesticulating at him following decisions he had made. I had to enter the field of play on three occasions to assist the referee in controlling the players.

At one point during the second half of play the referee ordered two people to the stands, one of these was standing behind me inside the security fencing and I believe was a spectator. When the referee spoke to him and ordered him to the stands he became extremely aggressive and was being held back by others as he was attempting to assault the referee.

Another incident was following a tackle. Before the referee was able to take action, players were running to the area where the foul took place and were pushing and pulling each other, again they were surrounding the referee shouting in his face.