Jump to content
Cornwall Football Forum

Foxhole 2 Mousehole 3

Recommended Posts

Foxhole 2 Mousehole 3

Saturday 29th November 2008

After reaching the break on level terms despite playing into the strong wind, and then going ahead early in the second half, Foxhole really should have won this game but a mad three minutes shortly after their best player Rickard was forced off on the hour proved crucial. On 63, Day ran through unchallenged before Adam Holland's tackle from behind was considered illegal, and the impressive James calmly converted the penalty; Day then ruthlessly capitalised on Hobbs' indecision to fire the winner. With Rickard nursing an injured elbow on the sidelines, the Foxes rarely threatened an equaliser, although Friendship's toe-poke was well fielded by Nurse, and Hobbs headed over Warne's free-kick.

James had put Mousehole ahead on nine minutes when a ricochet fell kindly to him but Rickard made it 1-1 on the quarter hour from May's centre, and Foxhole dealt comfortably enough with the visitors' attacks, despite affording Hall and Prowse far too much space in midfield. The better chances fell to the Foxes, as Rowe's drive was parried by Nurse who could only watch as the rebound was turned on to the post by Nicholls from a tight angle, while Butler may have done better after being released by Bromley.

With the wind now at their backs, Foxhole changed ends optimistic of clinching the points and, shortly after Rowe had nodded narrowly wide, Ryan Holland's long free-kick was flicked on by Rowe for Warne to cleverly lob the advancing keeper. Mousehole's merciless exposure of subsequent dismal defending should not, however, mask another generally disappointing display and this now may be an opportune moment for a couple of new faces.

Foxhole (4-4-2): Ryan Holland 6; Matt May 6, Lewis Prince 6, Adam Holland 6, Phil Hobbs 5; Andrew Butler 5, Jason Warne 6, Adam Bromley 6, Mark Rowe 5; Carl Rickard 7 (sub. Kyle Friendship 5), Liam Nicholls 5.

Mousehole (4-4-2): Ben Nurse; Matthew Howes, Caz James, Mark Trevail, Kelvin Snell; John Tonkin, Perran Reynolds (sub. Tom Patrick), Richard Hall, Barrie Prowse; Gerrans James, Joe Day.

Referee: Mr Tony Allen (Bodmin) 6.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...