Jump to content
Cornwall Football Forum

The FA Community Awards 2016

Recommended Posts

Last night over 75 local grassroots volunteers were invited to the Annual Cornwall FA Community Awards in Bodmin.


The Cornwall FA Community Awards are part of the National FA Community Awards in which volunteers across the Country are nominated by their peers in nine different categories.  The Awards, sponsored by McDonald's, are designed to celebrate and recognise the hard work, commitment and achievements of grassroots football in each County FA. Winners from each County are then nominated into a Regional Category and then Regional winners feed into the National Awards. Over the years we have had a number of National Winners including Bodmin Youth (Club of the Year 2014) and Liam Dart (Coach of the Year 2012) highlighting the great work that happens in Cornwall. 

Last night was the first year in which three nominees per category were invited to attend the ceremony, with the winners being announced on the night. All nominees received a framed certificate and a gift as a token of thanks for their continued hard work and support for football in their community. This years nominees and winners were;

Club of the Year

WINNER- Bodmin Dragons Ability Counts FC

RUNNER UP- Gwinear Churchtown FC


Development Club of the Year

WINNER- Charlestown FC


RUNNER UP- Ludgvan Lions FC

Community Club of the Year




League of the Year

WINNER- Trelawny League

RUNNER UP- Kernow Youth League

RUNNER UP- East Cornwall Premier League

Young Volunteer of the Year

WINNER- Eloise Schutte (Wadebridge Girls/ Football Futures)

RUNNER UP- Jaydan Kempthorne (Newquay Youth/ Football Futures)

RUNNER UP- Charlotte Collier (St Agnes Dynamos/ Football Futures)

Volunteer of the Year

WINNER- Andrew Plenty (Scooby)- Culdrose FC/ Trelawny League

RUNNER UP- Laura Park- Liskeard Juniors

RUNNER UPDave Bartlam (New Inn Titans)

Sportivate Volunteer of the Year

WINNER- Andy Fugler

Club Administrator of the Year

WINNER- Hilary Kent (Camelford FC)

RUNNER UP- Allan Web (Grampound FC)

RUNNER UP- Tracy Banfield (St Dennis AFC)

Outstanding Contribution to Community Football

WINNER- Jim Hilton (St Mawgan FC)

RUNNER UP- Christian Merrin (Looe Town FC)

RUNNER UP- Jody Marles (Troon FC)

A huge congratulations to all our winners and runners up this year and thank you to everyone who attended, it was fantastic to see so many people coming together to celebrate the great work happening in local football in Cornwall.

Read more at http://www.cornwallfa.com/news/2016/jun/community-awards-celebrates-grassroots-heros#AKjjyveOeGQOGvmx.99

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...