Jump to content
Cornwall Football Forum

Junior Cup Replay - West Cornwall 2 Carharrack 4

Recommended Posts


The last match was a credit to the Junior Cup with both sides drawing 2-2 each after extra time but this time there was no room for excuses. West Cornwall are no push over but this game for Carharrack was pure poetry in motion. On a humid afternoon Liam Bray opened the scoring after only 17 secs to put Carharrack in the lead. West Cornwall who started 433 were finding it frustrating that their star player Owain Barrett was being cancelled out the game by the disciplined Carharrack defence. Carharrack soon extended their lead when Carharrack defender Tristan Burrows headed in a cross after 16 mins. The pressure was against West Cornwall to push forward in order to win the game. Winning the battle in the air Carharrack didn't hold back going after every second ball, this paid dividends when Craig Moyle got Carharrack's third goal on the 26th. Not to be one sided West Cornwall had thier chances but just could not hit the target.

After the interval West Cornwall changed formation to 442 and came at Carharrack hard for the first 10 mins. West Cornwall rightwinger Ash Kemp made some good use of the wide pitch however none of his attack managed to connect. Carharrack thought they sealed the match when forward Brendeen Dennis took the forth of the match slotting it past the goalkeeper. Both sides battled to the end and with 15 mins to go West Cornwalll were awarded a penalty which was dually converted. This led to a slight panic within the Carharrack ranks and allowed West Cornwall to run a few passes which they took getting another goal back. But Carharrack held out and came a with a well deserved victory. Best of Luck to West Cornwall for the rest of the season you certainly have some talent in your side.

FT West Cornwall 2 Carharrack 4 :clapper:

Referee: Paul Minns (9)

Next Round Mining League 1 side Troon and after Troon who knows... :D


Carharrack: Mark Leah, Beffy Smeeth, Tristan Burrows, Steven Sansbury ©, Daniel Kashmarek, Craig Moyle, Ryan Counter, Martin Murphy, Paul Jolly, Brenden Dennis, Liam Bray & Richard Chown.

West Cornwall FC: Jason Brooker, Christopher Gordon, Cory Callaway, Phil Toy, Owen Hodge, Daniel Stevens ©, Joe Small, Liam Callaway, Matthew Reynolds, Ashley Mills, Simon Jefferies, Morgan Jefferies, Daniel Inch, Ed Timmons, Owain Barrett, Ashley Kemp, Tom Warren

, Marcus Tresidder, Carl Lander & Joe Campbell

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Create New...