Jump to content
Cornwall Football Forum


Recommended Posts

This was sent to the Sunday Independent but not used




The South West League AGM at Exeter proved to be a lively affair which seems to have upset a number of clubs. The league ended last season with 33 teams in three divisions, East, West and Premier. Exeter City were promoted to the National League South West Division One with five new teams being accepted. Sherborne from the Dorset League, Frome Town from the Somerset League, Swindon Supermarine from the Wiltshire league and Bristol ladies Union and Chipping Sodbury from the Gloucestershire League.


The league decided to settle for four divisions, Premier, North, East and West. The first three will have ten teams playing each other twice while the Western Division has been drastically reduced to just seven teams who will play each other three times.


The constitution is still not ratified or voted on due to Forest Green Rovers raising an objection to their placing in the Eastern Division, even though they are one of the furthest north. It was announced by the new incoming Chairman that there will be 4 league cups played by each team in their respective division i.e. Premier Division League Cup / Western Division League Cup / Eastern Division League Cup / Eastern Division League Cup.


The biggest disappointment is that because of FA rules Western Division champions Plymouth Argyle Development are unable to gain promotion.


The constitution as it stands although yet to be ratified is: Premier Division (10 teams to play each other twice).

Bideford Town (Promoted from Western Division), Bishops Lydeard, Callington Town, Ilminster Town, Keynsham Town Development, Marine Academy Plymouth, Middlezoy Rovers, Portishead, Royal Wootton Bassett (Promoted from Eastern Division), Torquay United.


Western Division (7 teams to play each other three times): Alphington, Bude Town, Exeter & Tedburn, Feniton, Plymouth Argyle Development, Plympton, St Agnes.


Eastern Division (10 teams to play each other twice) : FC Chippenham, Frome Town (Promoted from Somerset League), Laverstock & Ford, Pen Mill, Sherborne (Promoted from Dorset League), Swindon Spitfires, Swindon Supermarine (Promoted from Wiltshire league), Swindon Town Development, Trowbridge Town, Forest Green Rovers (tbc) (Relegated from Premier Division)


Northern Division (10 teams to play each other twice): AEK Boco, Almondsbury, Bristol Ladies Union (Promoted from Gloucestershire league), Cheltenham Town Development, Chipping Sodbury (Promoted from Gloucestershire League), Downend Flyers (Relegated from Premier Division), Frampton, Old Abbotonians, Weston Mendip, Weston Super Mare.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...