Cornwall Football Forum

I have some huge gaps in my knowledge and information in the county prior to the South Western League starting in 1951.

I think there was a Cornwall County League and a Cornwall Senior League operating in the late 40's and early fifties, but I can't seem to find much about either of these leagues.

Could anyone help to enlighten me - Would love some league tables for these leagues if anyone has them, or a list of teams that were participating, or any general info at all on these leagues.

Many Thanks

Paul

Prior to the South Western League the Cornwall Senior cup was played on a league basis with the Final between the winners of the East Division against the West.

I have some programmes of the Senior cup finals (late 40's) which show the clubs in the two groups.

I can in due course list the clubs who competed.

Cornwall Senior League

DIVISION 1 1958-59

TEAM PL WON DRAW LOST FOR AGAINST POINTS

ST JUST 20 15 3 2 57 26 33

NEWQUAY RESERVES 20 13 2 5 49 34 28

PORTHLEVEN 20 12 3 5 67 52 27

NANPEAN ROVERS 20 10 5 5 57 29 25

RAF ST MAWGAN 20 10 3 7 59 42 23

ST DENNIS 20 8 3 9 45 44 19

FALMOUTH TOWN RESERVES 19 7 2 10 42 44 16

PENZANCE RESERVES 20 6 2 12 34 46 14

HELSTON ATHLETIC RESERVES 19 6 2 11 28 44 14

RNAS CULDROSE 20 5 1 14 41 72 11

BODMIN PHH 20 4 0 16 39 85 8

DIVISION 2 1958-59

TEAM PL WON DRAW LOST FOR AGAINST POINTS

ROCHE 18 14 2 2 57 21 30

ST BREWARD 18 13 1 4 65 31 27

BUGLE 18 12 2 4 53 38 26

FALMOUTH DOCKS 18 8 6 4 59 31 22

MARAZION BLUES 18 7 5 6 46 40 19

MULLION 18 6 4 8 36 40 16

CAMELFORD 18 5 4 9 42 60 14

MOUSEHOLE 18 5 2 11 38 65 12

RNAS CULDROSE RESERVES 18 2 4 12 41 68 8

ST COLUMB MINOR 18 2 2 14 20 63 6

Each Division also had their own cup competitions and the results from the 1958-59 season were

DIVISION 1

NANPEAN ROVERS 4-4 HELSTON ATHLETIC RESERVES

REPLAY

HELSTON ATHLETIC RESERVES 2-3 NANPEAN ROVERS

- - - - -

DIVISION 2

MULLION 2-1 ROCHE

Senior League 1931/32- 1959/60