Jump to content
Cornwall Football Forum


Recommended Posts

ST DAY AFC held their end of season dinner and dance on Saturday 4th June. The committee decided to hold an evening that would be remembered by all.

The evening was held in a grand marquee on the main pitch, and was attended by 100 people who sat down to a three course meal and all in a brilliant atmosphere. The evening was attended by players & partners, officials, spectators and sponsors, and really was an excellent ending to a very successful season for St Day AFC

The marquee was erected by Truro marquees & catering and assisted by Western Event hire. The club would especially like to thank them and all the club sponsors for everything they have put into the club this season, and look forward to their support next season.

We ended the season by becoming:

FHFL Division Two Champions,

FHFL Division Three Promotion

Percy Stephens Cup Winners

Wheatly Cobb Cup Winners

Barker Bowl Runners Up

League Cup Runners Up

This is a huge achievement and more than the committee wanted when outlining the clubs seasons plans at the start of the season, so we would like to say a huge thank you to all players for their efforts and all managers for the season.

The evening was followed by presentations for each team and after an auction, which items were supplied by LWC (including the first item - auction of a bicycle) and following the auction a live band played us into the night. More players and supporters join us in the evening for the celebrations.

The awards were as follows:-

1st team Best Newcomer = Barry Hennesy

1st team Young player of the year = Jamie Staton

1st team Most improved player of the year = Simon Gumma

1st team Players player = Nathan Taylor

1st team Managers player = Nathan Taylor

2nd team Best Newcomer = Kyle Barclay

2nd team Young player of the year = Luke Leah

2nd team Most improved player of the year = Martin Mitchell

2nd team Players player = Dan Richards

2nd team Managers player = Joe Crossman

3rd team Best Newcomer = Jack Evans

3rd team Young player of the year = Jack Evans

3rd team Most improved player of the year = Nick Stevens

3rd team Players player = James Howman

3rd team Managers player = Phil Richards

Clubman of the year = Mark Leah

Chairman’s choice = Mark Etherington

A special award was presented to Gareth Jones for 30 years service as a PLAYER to St Day AFC, which is a massive achievement. Also some players were presented with league cup and Percy Stephens’s winners medals that were not available on finals night. The chairman also presented bouquets of flowers to ladies of the club, which included hard working fixture secretary Ginny Kay, and thanked her for her hard work along with the rest of the committee and groundstaff

All that’s left to say is once again thank you to Truro Marquees and all sponsors and hope to see everyone next season. The club will start pre season training in early July and details will be posted.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...