Cornwall Football Forum

How many referees have had the bad news?

I will start the ball rolling as I have received the letter telling me my services are no longer required and to quote a section from the last paragraph " I accept you may be disappointed but I hope you continue to officiate"!. But the icing on the cake is I have tried to telephone the referee`s secretary all I get is this person is on the phone, I have left three messages but as yet no one has bothered to get in touch. So thats what it means I have been a referee now for 36years and they do not have the common courtesy to return my call.

Further to my earlier post I have had a constructive conversation with Ray Brown who agree`s that it is not an ideal way to decide on the referee`s list, but he has offered me ( and I believe this offer is open to any referee who is affected) the chance of two assessments next season and if I am not up to the required standard I will quite happily stand down. This has always been my opinion on how it should be achieved and i must thank Ray for allowing me to give his ears a good bending.

Guest tractor boys

yes some referees have letters to say that if they were in the bottom 15% of the combo/east cornwall they will not ref senior football but if you do well in junior football you could get back to senior football ,,,, as i got a letter as i was in the bottom 15% so will not be ref in the combo or on the line will only be doing junior.. :yahoo: :c:

At the levels that Steve Massey operates in, one would imagine that most, if not all referees would pass any basic or fitness assessment.

Surely it's down at the lower levels where the knock on effect of the decision will be felt.

For several years now we have been well aware of the shortage of refs and the various schemes and sytems to source new officials.