Cornwall Football Forum

Defunct Cornish Football Clubs

Guest Man on the Post

Guest Man on the Post

The other day I was thinking about defunct cornish football clubs and thought it would be a good idea to create an 'online' directory, with brief details of their history, while people still have memories of them. Perhaps this could be part of Dave Deacon's cornish soccer website. What do others think?

I have little knowledge of East Cornwall clubs so without putting too much thought to it I start with; Bugle, Falmouth Docks, Malabar, A Division Police, Heathcoats, Treliske, St. Erth, Veor, Camborne Plough, Mylor, George and Dragon, Nancegollan, Busby Gents. Can't remember if Busby Gents played in a league or not?

There are obviously loads more so name those teams! :D

Devon and Cornwall Police are no longer in any league to my knowledge. Use to be in old South West League. I dont know if they still have a team that plays for one off games e.t.c?

Budock Rangers no longer exist. I think they were mainly youth teams and was run by Dougie Kellow father of Tony Kellow. I think Phil Kellow played for Budock Rangers!

Can think of quite a few clubs from the Duchy League that are no longer going:

Veryan, Tregony, Roseland (was St Mawes), Newmoor, Four Lords, St Austell Athletic (not unless they changed names), Ladock, Harlyn, Berties, RAF St Mawgan, Bodmin Athletic, Fowey Town, Saltash Churches, Menheniot...

There are plenty more I'm sure, some of those clubs were only around for a couple of years (Berties, Saltash Churches etc), whilst others were in existance for much longer.

I also remember playing a friendly about 6/7 years ago against a team called Malpas Wanderers who were a really good side, did they fold or change names?

Guest Man on the Post

Is the reason they called themselves Saltash Churches the obvious one or not? Secondly did they score a lot of goals with 'the hand of God'? :D