Cornwall Football Forum

TIME WASTING

ECPL

I would be interested to hear of any opinions about time wasting.   As an ex referee I was shocked at the amount of time wasting and feigning injury by the Northampton players against Argyle.  It is not often for me to watch Argyle but what struck me was the total lack of response from the match referee over clear time wasting antics.  Surely an early yellow card would have solved the problem. 

I wasn't at the match against Wycombe but again the referee's total ineptitude in dealing with the problem caused everyone at the ground to show their disgust at his lack of control.  Indeed I would put it to him that he was reason why there was a problem at the end of the game,.  I have only seen it on the TV but Ainsworth should be charged with bringing the game into dispute.  I was amazed that when Adams offered the customary end of game hand shake Ainsworth stuck his chest into Adams with plenty of finger pointing. Even when Adams attempted to shake hands with the Wycombe backroom staff Ainsworth continued to harass him.  We will obviously have to wait for the inept referees report before we know what action the FA will take. .  But guaranteed Argyle will be the most heavily critisised.

So what is my point.  I want to know why referees continually fail to do their job in by that to ensure that game becomes a sporting contest.    Have you noticed that one of the favorite tricks now is for a foul to be given, a player eventually decides where the kick is going to be taken and just when you think he is about to take the free kick, he walks away and another player usually over 25 yards away comes up, sets the ball again and eventually takes the free kick.  It is the same with a throw in with the same routine being followed much to the ire of the fans,.  And don't talk to me about feigning injury.  Surely the referee knows that much of this is deliberate time wasting